top of page
Writer's pictureCourtneyB

The Nicene Creed by Phillip Cary Book Review

Updated: Apr 30, 2023


Rating: 4.5 Stars

Release Date: March 29, 2023

Format: E-book

Publisher: Lexham Press


About the Book:

Understand and celebrate what we believe


For centuries, the Nicene Creed has been central to the church’s confession. The Nicene Creed: An Introduction by Phillip Cary explores the Creed’s riches with simplicity and clarity. Cary explains the history of the Creed and walks through its meaning line by line. Far from being abstract or irrelevant, the words of the Creed carefully express what God has done in Christ and through the Spirit. The Nicene Creed gives us the gospel. It gives biblical Christians the words for what we already believe. And when we profess the Creed, we join the global church throughout history in declaring the name and work of the one God―Father, Son, and Spirit. Gain a fresh appreciation for the ancient confession with Phillip Cary’s help.

Review:

Happy Easter! This was a wonderful book to read the week leading up to this most holy of days. This book was a great way to get deeper into the word and allow myself to truly dig deep and understand why my faith is important to me. You can tell this was a thoughtful, well researched and informative guide to the Nicene Creed. I can see myself going back to this whenever either I have a question or as a great resource to guide someone new to the faith.


Phillip is well versed in the Bible and used it as the backbone of this book. Well written and easy to read I never felt like I was being talked at but rather I was in a conversation with a knowledgeable friend. Thoroughly enjoyed!



Final Thoughts: if you have every wanted to get deeper into your faith or wondered what it is people find attractive about Jesus or the Creed, I would highly recommend this as a great starting point and resource.


Disclaimer: Thank you Netgalley and Lexham Press for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page