top of page
Writer's pictureCourtneyB

I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casey McQuiston Review

Updated: Sep 24, 2022

5 Stars

If a John Green novel became self-aware and was queer, how I would describe I Kissed Shara Wheeler. This novel is what I want from a Casey McQuiston YA novel.

I LOVED this book. Casey McQuiston you are three for three in making me melt and fall in love with every character you write. The small-town vibe, queer kids and romance I mean come on! What more could you want?!

Shara Wheeler disappears on prom night and no one knows where she goes or why she left. Until Chloe Green, Rory, the resident bad boy next door, and Smith, Shara's boyfriend have to work together to find pink envelopes left by Shara. This leads them to find out more about themselves, the girl they all love and the town that they live in.

I felt this was a celebration of queer youth finding out who they are and becoming more comfortable with themselves even if they are not sure who that is yet. Growing up in Georgia I felt really connected with the small town vibes and the strict Christian attitudes, this felt incredibly real and like I knew these characters in real life. I feel like I can't say enough good things and could not put the book down.

Final Thoughts - Casey McQuiston is a wonderful author who writes incredible diverse and connected characters who you can't help but fall in love with. If you enjoy YA romance then you will enjoy this book.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for this ARC in exchange for my honest review!

1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page