top of page
Writer's pictureCourtneyB

Black Founder: The hidden power of being an outsider By Stacy Spikes Book Review


Rating: 3.75 Stars

Release Date: January 24, 2023

Format: Ebook

Publisher: Kensington Books


About the Book:

Stacy Spikes, award-winning entrepreneur and founder of MoviePass, reveals the tools he’s used to persevere in the face of adversity, defy stereotypes, and shatter glass ceilings. BLACK FOUNDER tells the story of a trailblazing business leader and an unflinching look at what it means to be Black and ambitious in the upper echelons of record labels, movie studios and tech startups – with practical steps on how to overcome prejudice and build your own success.


Beginning as a film studio gopher, Spikes quickly rose through the industry ranks, being named one of the Hollywood Reporter’s 30 Under 30. Still, he was an outsider looking in. So he set out to make his own dreams a reality. Spikes effectively disrupted the status quo and reinvented himself from junior executive to CEO Tech Founder. What ensued was an escalating adventure with bigger stages, bigger risks, and a roller-coaster ride of exhilarating ascent—unpredictable collapse—and a story book return.

Review:

This was a wonderful book to read and I enjoyed getting to know more about Stacy Spikes and his roles outside of MoviePass. I wanted to read it to see how and why everything happened like it did but I was plesenlty surprised to learn how he grew and developed as a leader and founder in an industry that seems to be hesitant of "outsiders".


I remember back in early 2018 joining MoviePass, it was amazing! I was never one to go to the movies often (read: at all), I felt they were always way too over priced. Then seeing a Netflix type model to see movies it was exactly what I needed! I saw more movies in-person during those 2-4 months than I have in my entire life. I was sad when I saw it desovle and I think I can count on one hand how many movies I have seen in person since they have gone under. Getting the opportunity to read about everything that happened right from the source was such an enjoyable experience that I was looking forward too.


There were points in the book that were confusing, it would vear into self-help territory abruptly after having a long section about his life. I personally was much more interested in learning about Stacy and how he grew and navigated his life rather than getting the occasional tip for other entrepernures. I can see how others would like that, it just wasn't for me and that's ok.


His writing was well done and descriptive. I felt like I was in the meeting rooms with him and could feel the nerves or giddyness that he did when he won or lost. This was also a quick read but don't let the size fool you, there is so much jam packed in here you will be on the edge of your seat waiting to see what happens next.

Final Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable quick read that shed light on a topic I found very interesting. I am looking forward to keeping up with Stacy and MoviePass and hopefully I might start going to the movies again soon!


Disclaimer: Thank you Netgalley and Kensington Books for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page